The 7 Healing Chakras

Chakra is a Sanskrit word. In yoga the term chakra means(energy wheels throughout the body).
As Frederick Lenz said “ There are seven primary centers, junctions, within the subtle physical body. These are called the seven chakras”.

Just practicing 7 chakras yoga steps without knowing the core concept is not enough…
Do you know what is chakra?? Which are the seven chakras of our body??? How these chakras are related to stress and other functions???

Know what is chakra

Chakra is a Sanskrit word. In yoga the term chakra means(energy wheels throughout the body).

As Frederick Lenz said “ There are seven primary centers, junctions, within the subtle physical body. These are called the seven chakras”.

These chakras are located along our spine. They play an important both in physical and mental development.

Chakras in lower part of the body: Related to proliferation, survival and will

Remaining chakras: Associated to spiritual and psychological qualities like understanding, empathy and love.

Stimulating these chakras helps in reducing stress, mental and physical tensions. Particular yoga asanas and practices helps in reducing the balance in these energy centers.

Types of Chakras with specific yoga poses – 7 Chakras Yoga

Muladhara Chakra

  • This is the base chakra, positioned at the spines base.
  • Muladhara is associated to reproductive organs of the body.
  • This chakra represents the self-sufficiency and solidity of the mind and body.
  • You can try locust pose to activate this chakra.

Locust pose


  • Initially lie on your belly stretching the legs straight back behind you, with the forehead resting down on the mat.
  • Keep the tops of your feet down.
  • Now inhale deeply and raise your head. On exhaling lift your chest and arms with your palms facing downwards.
  • Raise your upper spine and reach your arms back towards the feet.
  • Bring the shoulder blades into your back ribs and lengthen them away from each other.
  • Maintain your breath smooth and even.
  • Hold this posture for about one minute.
  • Now slowly through exhalation release your body to the normal position.

Svadhisthana Chakra

  • Svadhisthana is located at the lower abdomen.
  • Balance of this chakra helps to gain sensuality and control over the emotions.
  • This chakra is related to stomach, bladder and liver.
  • Seated forward bend is the pose recommended for the activation of this chakra.

Seated forward bend


  • Sit upright stretching your legs in front of you. Ensure that your spine is kept erect.
  • Slowly breathing in lift your both arms above the head and stretch up.
  • Breathing out move forward from the hip joints. In such a way, that your chin should move towards the knees.
  • In this step place your both hands on the legs. Breath in by lengthening your spine.
  • Breath out by moving the navel towards the knees. Continue this movement for about 2-3 times.
  • Then drop your head down for deep breathing of 20-60 seconds.
  • Elongate the arms in front of you. Breath in with the strength of your arms. Return back up to the sitting position.
  • Finally breathe out and lower the arms.

Manipura Chakra

  • This is the third chakra positioned at the solar plexus.
  • Related to metabolic and digestive systems.
  • A balanced Manipura chakra gives you confidence and motivation.
  • You can try spinal twist for this chakra.

Spinal twist


  • In the first step, lie on your back with knees bent. Use a pillow for extra neck support.
  • Now exhale by bringing both your knees to the chest (Apanasana pose).
  • Then lengthen your left leg along the floor. Extend the right arm out along the ground with your palm facing downwards.
  • Shift your hips to the right and place your left hand onto your right knee.
  • Exhale and drop the right knee over the left side of your body.
  • Now turn your head to the right side.
  • Always keep the shoulder blades pushing to the ground, away from your ears.
  • Stay in this pose for 10-25 breaths. On an inhalation slowly come back to the center (come in Apanasana).
  • In this step exhale, stretch your right leg along the ground. Repeat the above mentioned steps on the opposite site.

Anahata Chakra

  • This chakra is placed at the heart.
  • Mainly associated with the immune and endocrine systems.
  • Stimulates energy flow in the chest and lungs.
  • You can try Pigeon pose to energize this Anahata chakra

Pigeon pose


  • Start from downward facing dog pose. Now step both feet together and bring up the right knee forward between your hands.
  • Ensure that your left hip is pointing downwards.
  • Remain in this pose with your hands resting on the right leg, then take about five breaths.
  • Push your left toes and step your right foot back, place your both hands in front of you.
  • Take a vinyasa and repeat the same steps on the left side.

Vissudha Chakra

  • This is the fifth chakra, placed at the throat.
  • Vissudha is related to thyroid glands.
  • Gives you fluency in expressions and thoughts through the stimulation of (neck and throat) regions.
  • You may try yoga pose like Lion’s Face

Lion’s Face


  • Sit on your heels with legs folded, Keep your spine erect in a relaxed manner.
  • Now inhale deeply and reach the crown of the head up, lengthen the spine.
  • While you exhale, arch the spines and bring the palms in front of your knees.
  • Then look up at into your third eye ( Symbolic eye in the center of the forehead) and stick out the tongue. Roar aloud like a lion out of your mouth.
  • Finally inhale back to the same position and continue the same steps for about 2-5 times.

Ajna Chakra

  • This chakra is positioned between your two eyebrows.
    Adduces cosmic energy.
  • Plays a strong role in developing spiritual awareness.
  • You can energize this chakra through seated angle pose.

Seated angle pose


  • Sit up straight stretching your legs forward. Care should be taken that your toes and feet are pointing upwards.
  • Lengthen the legs into a V shape.
  • Now inhale and raise the arms over the head.
  • Maintain the spine straight, then bend forwards at the hips.
  • Bring the hands towards the front between the legs and slowly exhale.
  • Hold the outsides of the feet with your hands.
  • Constrict the thighs and abs. Hold this pose for about 10-60 seconds.
  • Finally repeat the above steps 2-3 times.

Sahasrara Chakra

  • This is the last chakra seen on the upper side of your head. Known as the center of wisdom.
  • This is linked to the pituitary gland and the central nervous system.
  • One may be able to attain a spiritual state through Sahasrara’s activation.
  • You may try the head stand pose for this purpose.

Head stand pose


  • Begin on your hands and knees. Slowly bring the crown of your head to the ground.
  • Your forearms should be in a direction perpendicular towards the floor.
  • Lift the knees up and hold the pose for 5-20 breaths.
  • Now try to bring your each knee, one at a time (teddy bear head stand). Maintain this pose for 5-20 breaths.
  • In the next step stretch your bend legs upwards, in such a way (knees pointing up towards the ceiling). Hold the pose for 5-20 breaths.
  • In the last step, engage your both legs straight up into the air, maintain the posture as long as possible.
  • Return to the normal position in the same way you rolled up.